Tuesday, February 23, 2010

For Immediate Release

To Air On NewNowNext PopLab On Logo and LogoTV.com

The Broadcast Highlights from the 2009 OUTmusic Awards Featuring the Biggest and Brightest Stars in the LGBT Entertainment Industry

NEW YORK, NY (Tuesday, February 16, 2010) --- Logo viewers will have a chance to witness the magic and memories of one the biggest night's in LGBT entertainment with the airing of The Best Moments of the 2009 Outmusic Awards on Logo's NewNowNextPopLab Tuesday, February 23 at 7 p.m. EST. The Best Moments of the 2009 Outmusic Awards features a star-studded line-up of some of the best artists in the LGBT Recording Academy. Logo is a division of Viacom MTV Networks (check your local listing). 

Filmed at the legendary landmark Webster Hall in New York City on Tuesday December 8, the 2009 OUTmusic Awards (OMAs) drew a standing room only crowd of more than 2,000 individuals who came out to witness history and magic in the making and to support openly gay artists and performers. The night featured performances by Kristi Martel, Jason Walker, Rachael Sage, Levi Kreis, Toshi Reagon, Nhojj, Fresh Geex, Tori Fixx, Mack Mistress, Tangarae, J.R., Jasper James, Christine Martucci, Deepa Soul, The House of Ninja, Reginald L. Barnes, as well as a high flying aerial performance by male duo ManTrix. Pop sensation Chelley "Took The Night" performing her dance floor hit of the same name, and The IT Band with Richie Rich presented a fashion/music segment featuring his new fashion line, AMUSE, with Pamela Anderson and hair by celebrity hair stylist Marco Guglielmino. 

Some of the winners were: OUTstanding Rock Song (Stewed Tomatoes), OUTstanding Pop Song (Athena Reich), OUTstanding Hip Hop/Rap Song (Jasper James), OUTstanding Electro/Dance (Brian Kent), OUTstanding R&B Song (Nhojj), OUTstanding Songwriter & OUTstanding Producer (Rachael Sage), OUTmusician of the Year (Scott Free), OUTmusic Icon (Willi Ninja), Heritage Award (Toshi Reagon), Lifetime Achievement Award (Kevin Aviance), Visionary Award (Founders of OUTmusic Dan Martin & Michael Biello), and the Pillar Award (Deborah Harry). 

Executive Director Diedra Meredith aka Deepa Soul says "the TV Broadcast coverage of The Best Moments of the 2009 OMAs marks a historical moment in television and music. Thanks to Logo, for the first time the OUTmusic Awards will be broadcast into over 40 million homes across America and to even more via the worldwide internet onLogoTV.com. Now the world can applaud openly LGBT recording artist as we showcase their musical excellence and honor them for their audacity of hope."  The television broadcast was executive produced and filmed by Sekiya Dorsett (Manufactured Chaos/Rainbow Collective).

611 B'Way Suite 740

No comments:

Post a Comment